The Forebrain


The brain itself is divided into three basic units: the forebrain, midbrain and hindbrain.  The forebrain consists primarily of the cerebrum and structures hidden beneath it.  The cerebrum itself consists of pairs of frontal lobes, parietal lobes, temporal lobes and occipital lobes.  A midline section of the brain, showing the left hemisphere, appears in the logo at the top of the home page.  You can see that the cerebrum is shaped like a boxing glove, the left brain looking like a right glove and vice versa.


The various parts of the brain also largely control different functions.  Injury to frontal lobes affects executive skills of problem solving, abstract reasoning, insight, judgment, planning, information processing, and organization.  The parietal lobes are the primary sensory areas of the brain, receiving information about temperature, taste, touch and movement from the rest of the body.  Reading and arithmetic are also functions of the parietal lobes.  The temporal lobes receive information from the ears thus controlling our appreciation of music and sound.  The temporal lobes are also crucial in forming, retrieving and integrating memories and sensations of taste, sound, sight and touch.  The occipital lobes process images from the eyes and link that information with images stored in memory.  The inner brain, lying deep within the cerebrum, determines our emotional state and allows us to initiate movements we make without thinking about them.


Source: Article by David L. Goldin, J.D.


Article describing brain injury from a legal point of view:



FAS and the Brain

Return to the FAS Community Resource Center